HOLY GHOST CHURCH (PROVIDENCE, RI) RECORDS, 1894-1971
Credit: Center for Migration Studies of New York

HOLY GHOST CHURCH (PROVIDENCE, RI) RECORDS, 1894-1971

Note: A box and folder list is available in the repository.

In 1889, Reverend Luigi Paroli P.S.S.C. established the Holy Ghost Church to accommodate the growing number of Italian immigrants living in the Federal Hill area of the city. The church was completed in 1910. The collection sheds light on both parish life and the life and activities of its pastor Flaminio Parenti, who administered the parish from 1922-1964. The collection is made up of photographs of Parenti’s early life in Italy and the congregation, as well as clippings, souvenir journals, financial records, correspondence, parish histories, and a unique compendium of religious feasts celebrated at Holy Ghost.

Note: A box and folder list is available in the repository.

Collection Title Holy Ghost Church (Providence, RI) Records, 1894-1971
Call Number CMS 021
Extent 4 linear feet in 3 boxes