In 1889, Reverend Luigi Paroli P.S.S.C. established the Holy Ghost Church to accommodate the growing number of Italian immigrants living in the Federal Hill area of the city. The collection is made up of photographs of Parenti’s early life in Italy and the congregation, as well as clippings, souvenir journals, financial records, correspondence, parish histories, and a unique compendium of religious feasts celebrated at Holy Ghost.
The records consist of a history of each parish, illustrated diamond jubilee books, parish bulletins, correspondence between pastors, souvenirs journals, magazines, newspapers, albums with clippings, photographs, and short biographies of pastors.
The bulk of this collection consists of bound volumes of the parish bulletin, called La Campana di Silver Lake, from 1923-1956 and 1976. Also included are jubilee booklets, photographs, some early correspondence, and financial reports, as well as a history written from 1969.